This page changes frequently. Please check back often for updates.

Keynote Speakers

Honorable Katherine Hammack
Assistant Secretary of the Army (Installations, Energy & Environment)
Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Army 

Ms. Katherine Hammack was appointed as the Assistant Secretary of the Army for Installations, Energy and Environment (ASA IE&E) by President Obama on 28 June 2010. She is the primary advisor to the Secretary of theArmy and Chief of Staff  on all Army matters related to Installation policy, oversight and coordination of energy security and management. She is also responsible for policy and oversight of sustainability and environmental initiatives; resource management including design, military construction, operations and maintenance; base realignment and closure (BRAC); privatization of Army family housing, lodging, real estate, utilities; and the Army’s installations safety and occupational health programs.

Prior to her appointment, Ms. Hammack was a leader in Ernst & Young LLP’s Climate Change and Sustainability Services practice. In that capacity she assisted clients with obtaining Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) green building certification for their buildings and identification of sustainability strategies.

Ms. Hammack has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Oregon State University and an M.B.A. from University of Hartford. She is a Certified Energy Manager, LEED Accredited Professional and a Certified Indoor Air Quality Manager. Ms. Hammack is a founding member of U.S. Green Building Council in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Dane Boysen
Program Director, ARPA-e -Transformative Technologies

Dr. Dane Boysen currently serves as a Program Director at the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E).His main focuses include: electrochemical energy conversion and storage; natural gas conversion and storage technology; and materials for energy storage and conversion.

Prior to joining ARPA-E, Boysen led the development of a grid-scale energy storage liquid metal battery at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) under Professor Donald Sadoway. In 2004, Boysen co-founded Superprotonic Inc., a venture capital-backed start-up company dedicated to the commercialization of solid acid electrolyte-based fuel cells. Successfully raising two rounds of venture capital, Boysen and co-founder, Dr. Calum Chisholm pioneered the use of solid acid electrolytes in fuel cells, resulting in the first new class of fuel cell electrolytes in nearly half a century. This work has led to numerous patents and publications in eminent periodicals, such as Science (January 2004) and Nature (April 2001).

Boysen received his M.S. (2001) and Ph.D. (2004) in Materials Science at the California Institute of Technology—where he investigated the transport properties, phase transitions, and atomic structure of solid acid proton conductors under Professor Sossina Haile.

Concurrent Session Speakers

  • Leonardo Alencar, MAN Latin America
  • Justin Ashton, XL Hybrids
  • Eric Blowers, City of Charlotte
  • Brad Bohlmann, University of Minnesota
  • Nick Cammisa, Terex
  • Jim Castelaz, Motiv Power
  • Patrick Chen, CALSTART
  • Dave Cook, US Navy-NAVFAC
  • Tom DeCoster, Parker Hannifin
  • Adam Duran, NREL
  • Glen Ellis, Hino
  • Curtis Dorwart, Mack Trucks
  • Jeffrey Esfield, VIA Motors
  • Sean Flaherty, Centralina Clean Fuels Coalition
  • Steven Fleischman, Western Washington University
  • Clarke Fortune, Eaton
  • Jean-Baptiste Gallo, CALSTART
  • Mark Greer, Altec
  • Morgan Hamori, Parker Hannifin
  • Alleyn Harned, Virginia Clean Cities
  • Michael Herbert, ACT I
  • Mira Inbar, Dow Kokam
  • Dean Jones, Duke Energy
  • John Kargul, US EPA
  • Jeff Kessen, A123 Systems
  • Nathan Knestrick, Parker Hannifin
  • Larry Kubes, Remy Electric
  • Benoit LaCroix, Effenco Development
  • Carl Lisek, South Shore Clean Cities
  • Claude Masters, Florida Power and Light
  • Derek Matthews, BAE Systems
  • Brad McNett, US Army TARDEC/NAC
  • Craig Neuber, ARI
  • Mark O’Connell, Wisconsin Clean Transportation Program
  • John Oenick, Phoenix International
  • Thomas Orberger, Siemens
  • Richard Parish, CALSTART
  • Whitney Pitkanen, CALSTART
  • Adam Puzzouli, US Army/TARDEC
  • Ewan Pritchard, Keystone Science Center, NCSU
  • Tom Prucha, Protean Electric
  • Andre Ramirez, Southern California Edison
  • Mike Roeth, NACFE
  • Kathy Sanders, City of Charlotte
  • Jonas Schuster, Lenze Schmidhauser
  • Vishant Shah, EnerNex
  • Jesse Shroyer, Smith Electric
  • Andrea Simon, US Army Tardec/NAC
  • David Stamm, Pi Innovo
  • Alex Stucky, Eaton
  • Peter Thomas, FIAMM SoNick
  • Douglas Thomson, EcoDual Group
  • Jasna Tomic, CALSTART
  • Mike Tourville, Evans Cooling Systems
  • Greg Treinen, Freightliner
  • Bill Van Amburg, CALSTART
  • Jason Wager, Centralina Council of Governments
  • Tim Weaver, Smith Electric
  • Steve Whaley, Alliance Autogas
  • Tamar Williamson, Parker Hannifin
  • David Worthington, Sonoma County
  • Ian Wright, Wrightspeed
  • Lawrence Zepp, Variable Torque Motors

© 2012 HTUF. All Rights Reserved.